top of page

Webquests Are Our Friends...

I was introduced to webquests in my first year of teaching eight years ago. I thought they were such a great tool to use. I scoured the internet for fun ideas that I could use to develop lessons that included webquests. My students responded well to them. It was a change of pace and they enjoyed the freedom of working independently.

Then, one day it happened...they stopped enjoying them. I remember the day it happened like it was yesterday. It is right up there with remembering a national tradegy - I can tell you where I was standing and what I was wearing when IT happened. The entire class told me "webquests are boring." "We don't like doing webquests." "Can we do something else?" I reeled them back in promising that mine were different, and promised that they would not be boring...but it took so much to convice them of this that I was on the verge of giving up. Thankfully,after much convincing, they appeased me and began working. All over the room I could hear students conspiratorially state, "okay, this one is not that bad." "this is kinda fun." "Don't tell Mrs. Burrows, but I like this one, and look at the project we get to do next!" And I rejoiced!

But, that lead me back to where we began. Why were they so negative about webquests? Why would they assume that they were all boring? These questions began my search. I was googling webquests for the next few weeks, discussing webquests with collegues and administrators, and most importantly asking my students what they would like to see in a great webquest. I then began using the information that I had collected to help develop successful webquests for my classroom. If students have experienced a sad excuse for a webquest they are then going to think all of them are that boring. I made it my mission to make sure that mine are more intersting, and usually lead into a fun, hands on project.

I still have students that come into my classroom that must have had a bad experience with a webquest...but thankfully, that student is usually sitting near a student that will reassure him with, "nah, I heard Mrs. Burrows' webquests aren't that bad."


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page