top of page

To Charge Or Not To Charge...That Is The Question.

My district has decided to implement a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) initiative for the upcoming school year. The conversations that have been taking place have lead us all over the map trying to plan for problems that we may face as we begin this new journey with our students. Wifi is being upgraded, security is being heightened, and lesson plans are being modified...but what about power? With all new initiatives, it is recommened that everyone take part. Usually, everyone does. But, from experience I can tell you that when we reach the end of the day my students will have devices with little to no battery power left. What will I do with them if I had planned for a lesson filled with the use of their device?

My district has asked us to not allow students to charge their devices in our classrooms. But, what about the end of the day? I know that every year my students in my last block beg to charge their devices, they need to have their phones to call for rides after clubs and sports - and this was without the BYOD. This is them needing a recharge from their personal use.

I have come up with a few different plans of action that I will be sharing with my district to help eradicate the problem before it really even happens.

1. Offer charging stations around the school. Allow students to charge in specified places such as: the school library, the cafeteria, and some of the computer labs.

2. Give students portable chargers. Maybe this can be done as an incentive.

3. Allow students to charge their devices as needed. Eliminate the no charging policy and allow them to charge when they can.

I am excited to see the BYOD in effect. I work in a computer lab so I have access to technology all day. I am really excited for my coworkers who will now have the ability to create engaging technology filled lessons.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page