top of page

AVID - What is it?


The district in which I am employed is an AVID district. Before I began teaching here, I had no idea what AVID was. I knew if someone was an avid reader - they read A LOT. But that is not what the program at my school is. AVID stands for Advancement Via Individual Determination. The program is built to target students that are not yet college bound, but show signs of interest and ability. The typical beginner AVID students is a C student with organization problems. AVID teaches these students strategies to prepare them for college and beyond. You can check out the AVID website here to find out more about the program.

Not only is AVID great for our students, it is wonderful for our staff. AVID teaching strategies have been shared with the entire staff to use. Many of the tools that they have provided are great for any content area and can be applied in a multitude of ways. Here is a link to a great Pinterest board with a plethora of AVID links. I use a variety of strategies with my students - everything from Cornell notes to 4 corners activities. My students respond with positive feedback and seem to grasp the information being presented quickly when done using these strategies.

Please check them out and explore the possibilities!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page